Tri Sigmas, Pi Kapps awarded Morgan Scholarships


NATCHITOCHES – Northwestern State University’s Alpha Zeta chapter of Sigma Sigma Sigma Sorority and Beta Omicron chapter of Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity hosted a program to recognize students earning Morgan Extra Mile Scholarships March 20.

David Morgan, a 1973 NSU graduate and alumnus of NSU’s Beta Omicron Chapter, established the “Extra Mile” Scholarship in 2008 to recognize members of Pi Kappa Phi who distinguish themselves through academic success, chapter leadership, campus involvement and part-time employment. The scholarship has since grown and is awarded at the national level as well as in the local chapter. The Sherry Fargerson Morgan “Extra Mile” Scholarship for Sigma Sigma Sigma was announced in 2017 and mirrors the criteria for Pi Kappa Phi by honoring students who are outstanding and high achieving members of the chapter. First Generation Scholarships are awarded to students who are the first in their immediate families to attend college.  Qualifying members participate in an application process that is reviewed by chapter alumni before selections are made.

Students earning First Generation Student Scholarships are Josephine Martinez, Travis Jimenez and Peyton Fuller.

This year’s Extra Mile Scholarship recipients are Grace Gosserand, Natalee Cook, Zoe Johnson, Kacy Young, Madison Cook, Natalie Mangandi, Jon Elise Sturgeon, Mary Scruggs, Sydney Salzer, Peyton Fuller, Travis Jimenez, Jonatan Jimenez, Andrew Dubriske, Jonathan Gennaro, Lance Corry, Gavin Kendrick, Graham Claycomb, Colby Grayson, Dominic Ross and Zachary Cooper.

Several alumni participated in the program, including David and Sherry Morgan and keynote speaker Jack McCain Jr., a charter member of the Beta Omicron chapter and it’s first archon (president).  Lindsay Maggio McElwee, a 2008 alumna, was emcee. Beka Burns, a 2019 alumna and chapter advisor, and Robert Broadwell, Pi Kappa Phi House Corporation Chairman, presented the honors. Speakers also included Tri Sigma President Zoe Johnson, Pi Kappa Phi President Travis Jimenez, Jake Henderson, CEO of Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity; NSU President Dr. Marcus Jones, Dr. Drake Owens, executive director of the NSU Foundation, James Lowring, Pi Kappa Phi chaplain, and Gabrielle Lacheney, Tri Sigma education director.

Program and banquet co-chairs were Natalee Cook and Devin Stacy with assistance from Peter Cannata, Madison Cook, Zach Cooper, Jacob Croom, Jonathan Gennaro, Grace Gosserand, Travis Jimenez, Zoe Johnson, Natalie Mangandi and Ashlynn Stewart.  Reatha Cox, vice president for the Student Experience and Dean of Students, was also a key organizer.